Kitnapper? What does that really mean?!

It’s a dirty word in the Direct Sales/Multi-Level Marketing business… kitnapper.  You see it sometimes in advertisements, “Kitnappers Welcome!”   Or on websites promoting direct sales, “I want to kitnap -insert company here-”

So what does it really mean?  Every company will offer you something in exchange for your fee to register as a Presenter/Consultant/Stylist/whatever fancy title the company gives to the people who represent them as salespeople.  That “something” is usually a kit made up of products that can be used for personal use or used as demos for potential customers.  In a perfect world, everyone who registers with a company as a sales person will network, sell, and generally work their butts off and reap huge rewards.  This is not a perfect world!  It is, however, a world where people love to get free things!

These kits typically contain the products that each company wants to be huge sellers, the really good stuff!  In the case of my company, Younique, we offer a Presenter’s Kit to everyone who is willing to pay $99 USD/$119 CDN/$129 AUD/$139 NZD/£69 to register as a Presenter.  What do you get for that fee?  Your website that is always free, as well as a minimum of 20% in commissions from all sales, including your own (it goes up from there).  AND this beautiful bundle of products!  It includes so many products, plus the gorgeous black embossed leather case.

kit

So the big question is, what if you don’t ever plan to sell a thing?  Is that okay?  YES!  Most companies offer a two-tiered royalty plan so that they can reward those who are selling with higher commissions, and allow those who just want the kit to order as they please.  That’s the beauty of kitnapping!

Now for my dirty little secret…  my name is Kim, and I’m a kitnapper.  Now, I’m smart about it, don’t get me wrong!  I don’t just impulsively grab up any kit full of pretty things without doing my research (usually).  I do, however, buy kits for companies whose products I use faithfully, products that I love to use and give as gifts.  The way I see it, it’s like having a membership to Costco.  Yes, the kit cost me a bit of money, but the payoff is that whenever I want to stock up, I get my products for these companies at a discounted rate.  It makes my holiday shopping a little cheaper, as I usually give quality products from these companies as gifts.  It also makes it cheaper for me to run my business as a makeup artist as I use primarily the products that I sell.  I do shake it up though, as other companies make fantastic products that I love and use as well!

When I started with Younique, it was for the kit.  100%!  I had just ordered about $700 worth of product after a party (I only paid $225) and had the realization that I would want to replenish these items as they ran out and that it could get costly.  I called my friend and asked her, “Is there any reason I shouldn’t sell this?” and, well, the rest is history.  I was so excited to get the darn discount.  I mean, have you tried our BB Flawless?!  It’s worth it.  My enthusiasm turned out to be contagious and I started to make sales, which was not my initial plan but hey, it means free makeup for me so why turn it down, right?

So, what exactly is a kitnapper?  It’s someone who wants a discount, plain and simple.  Someone who is willing to put a bit of money into a kit full of products that, if paid for individually, would cost considerably more.  It’s someone who wants the benefits of working as a representative of a particular company but who doesn’t intend to make a career out of it.  And I love every kitnapper who joins me.  Why?  Because it usually means they love the same products I love!

Just remember to do your research as you just might start to make some money from your investment, and you may need help from the person you sign up under.  Remember this is Multi-Level Marketing…. you always “sign up” under someone else.  The kitnappers’ most frequent lament is this, “The person who I signed up under has ignored me because they knew I just wanted the kit!  Now I want to make some money but they’re nowhere to be found… help!”  Always do your research.  Interview your potential sponsors, as them why you should register for your kit under them.  Don’t focus on finding a sponsor with a blingy ad on social media, anyone with a visa card and a Facebook account can sponsor a post.  Focus instead on whether or not this person seems to be consistent and approachable, on whether or not they encourage you to follow the rules of the company they represent or not.  I speak from experience as a kitnapper.  I have had incredible sponsors and not so great sponsors.  You’ll find the right one if you take your time!  Also, read the fine print.  Some companies (not mine) require you to meet certain sales milestones or else you have to pay back the cost of the products in the kit.  These are not kitnapper-friendly companies!

Why do companies allow this?  For the same reason you want the kit!  They’re willing to take the gamble on you, they’re hoping that you’ll wear your new mascara or carry your new purse and everyone will want to order it from you and they’ll have made money from you signing up as a representative for them.  The reality is that about 30% of people who register actually sell, or stay active.  The rest buy their kits, maybe stock up on products and then move along to something else.  That’s okay!  It’s often worth the risk. In the last year, this kitnapper (ME) has sold almost $20,000 in product for Younique.  That was a gamble that paid off for my company!  Not only did it pay off in my personal sales, but my team and I have added almost 30 new people to the company over the course of the year.

So kitnapping, is it for you?  That depends.  Do you like the products enough to use them or give them as gifts?  Do you think you’d use the discount on future products?  If the answer is yes, then I’d say it’s for you!  Go on out there and find a company and a sponsor that align with your interests.  What have you got to lose?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Kitnapper? What does that really mean?!

  1. Love this, Kim! Congrats on your success with Younique! Primer is my favorite product… As a “seasoned” kitnapper, I have worked with many direct sales companies… Recently had the same experience with Dove Chocolate Discoveries… When you find the “right one” your business will explode and you will know… If you are lookin to offer some chocolate to your customers while you pamper them with Younique, drop me a message! 😀

    Like

Leave a comment